How to Use Astrology to Balance Your Chakras

Learn how to balance your chakras through the powerful guidance of astrology and reveal effective techniques to activate, cleanse, and harmonize your chakras.

Many of us who have astrological knowledge are also aware of the chakras. But did you know these two are related? First, let’s briefly explain what the chakras are.

The chakras are energy centers located in the subtle body, or the energy body, that are believed to correspond with different aspects of our physical, emotional, and spiritual selves. There are seven main chakras, each with its own color, location in the body, and energetic associations.

Now, how does astrology relate to the chakras? Each chakra is associated with a particular planet and zodiac sign in sidereal astrology.

Understanding these associations can offer insight into balancing and activating each chakra, and ultimately promoting a more balanced and harmonious energy body.

Let’s explore each chakra and its corresponding planet and zodiac sign:

1. Root Chakra – Saturn and Capricorn

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is associated with our sense of security, stability, and foundation. Saturn, the planet of discipline and structure, is the ruling planet of Capricorn, the zodiac sign associated with the root chakra. When the root chakra is balanced, we feel grounded, secure, and stable.


2. Sacral Chakra – Venus and Libra

The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with our creativity, sexuality, and emotional expression. Venus, the planet of love and beauty, is the ruling planet of Libra, the zodiac sign associated with the sacral chakra. When the sacral chakra is balanced, we feel passionate, creative, and connected to our emotions.


3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Mars and Aries

The solar plexus chakra is located in the upper abdomen and is associated with our personal power, willpower, and confidence. Mars, the planet of action and aggression, is the ruling planet of Aries, the zodiac sign associated with the solar plexus chakra. When the solar plexus chakra is balanced, we feel confident, empowered, and able to take action toward our goals.


4. Heart Chakra – Sun and Leo

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and is associated with love, compassion, and connection to others. The Sun, the planet of self-expression and vitality, is the ruling planet of Leo, the zodiac sign associated with the heart chakra. When the heart chakra is balanced, we feel open-hearted, loving, and connected to others.


5. Throat Chakra – Mercury and Gemini

The throat chakra is located in the throat and is associated with communication, self-expression, and creativity. Mercury, the planet of communication and information, is the ruling planet of Gemini, the zodiac sign associated with the throat chakra. When the throat chakra is balanced, we feel confident in expressing ourselves, speaking our truth, and communicating effectively with others.


6. Third Eye Chakra – Moon and Cancer

The third eye chakra is located in the center of the forehead and is associated with intuition, psychic abilities, and inner wisdom. The Moon, the planet of emotions and intuition, is the ruling planet of Cancer, the zodiac sign associated with the third eye chakra. When the third eye chakra is balanced, we feel connected to our intuition, inner guidance, and higher wisdom.


7. Crown Chakra – Jupiter and Sagittarius

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head and is associated with spiritual connection, enlightenment, and transcendence. Jupiter, the planet of expansion and abundance, is the ruling planet of Sagittarius, the zodiac sign associated with the crown chakra. When the crown chakra is balanced, we experience a sense of spiritual understanding and we have discernment on all etheric matters.


So how do we know which of our chakras we may struggle to balance more? To first determine our accurate birth chart, we can use a true sidereal birth chart calculator. Once we analyze our birth chart, we can see which planets might have hard aspects, like an opposition or a square, or more difficult placements of the planets within the houses. Hard aspects or difficult placements could lead to an imbalance in the chakra represented by certain planets and signs.

For example, someone with Venus square Pluto might experience struggles with Venus-related topics and therefore have difficulty balancing their sacral chakra. Another example might be someone with Mars in the 8th house, who may have struggles balancing their solar plexus chakra, due to a difficulty placed Mars.

After determining which of your chakras may be afflicted, you can begin to work on balancing those specific chakras. There are a variety of ways to do this. Some methods include meditation, energy healing, yoga, affirmations, and crystal therapy.

Meditation is a powerful tool to bring balance to the chakras. By quieting the mind and focusing on the specific chakra that needs healing, you can visualize the energy flowing freely and harmoniously through it. This practice allows you to release any blockages or negative energy that may be affecting the chakra.

Energy healing modalities such as Reiki or acupuncture can also be effective in balancing the chakras. These techniques work by channeling healing energy or stimulating specific points in the body, promoting the flow of energy and restoring balance to the affected chakras.

Yoga is another popular method for chakra balancing. Each yoga pose targets specific areas of the body, stimulating the corresponding chakras. By practicing poses that focus on the affected chakra, you can help release any tension or energetic imbalances, allowing the energy to flow freely once again.

Affirmations are positive statements that can help shift your mindset and energy. By repeating affirmations related to the specific chakra, you can reprogram your subconscious mind and promote healing in that area. For example, if your throat chakra is blocked, you can affirm statements like “I express myself freely and confidently” or “My voice is powerful and authentic.”

Crystal therapy involves using specific crystals and gemstones that correspond to each chakra. These crystals are believed to carry certain energies and vibrations that can help balance and heal the chakras. Placing the appropriate crystal on or near the affected chakra can support the restoration of its natural flow and harmony.

It’s important to remember that chakra balancing is a holistic practice, and different methods may work better for different individuals. Experimenting with these techniques and finding what resonates with you personally can lead to a deeper understanding of your chakras and facilitate their healing and alignment.

Once we are aware of our limitations, we can work to improve them. Almost none of us will have all our chakras fully open and balanced. But we all have strengths and weaknesses energetically. Through using our astrological knowledge, we can seek to balance our chakras, leading to energetic improvement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.